Bitch Stole My Dress

The Salvation Army had a $2 sale Friday so I was obligated to go.

I was trying to be nice and left the change room for people who needed to strip down to try on their finds- I only had shirts that could go over the tank top and leggings I wore under my denim shirt dress.

My dress was on my cart one moment and gone the next.

WTF???

I looked everywhere. I even enlisted the help of some of the ladies working there but nothing.

It was gone.

I couldn’t believe it.

I had walked all over Toronto in the heat and humidity in that dress. I’m not proud to admit that it was ripe.

Why would anyone want to walk off with a smelly garment?

It was just a light-weight denim dress from the Gap that I bought for less than $40 (at the Gap itself) but I loved that dress. It could be worn on its own, with leggings, skinny pants or capris and when it gets colder, you could layer a long-sleeved tee underneath.

There were even ties that allowed you to cinch the drop waist and make it more blouson, more tunic-like.

And I hadn’t even made a pattern from it to knock off a copy in other fabrics!!!!

Crap!!!

Thankfully they didn’t get my iPod or my cash- either would have sucked more.

I left a description of the dress (V-neck, collarless, light-weight denim shirt dress with buttons half-way down the front, a drop waist with a side-tie to cinch (or not), two pockets in the front, three-quarter sleeves) with the lovely ladies at the store who apologized profusely for what happened- even though it wasn’t their fault. I am not holding my breath that I’ll get a call that they found it but it was nice of them to offer to keep an eye out for it.

I just have to start looking for a replacement for that all-weather dress. The Gap no longer has it in stock so I will have to scour the racks of Sally Ann for something close.

I hope whoever took it enjoys it…bitch.

~ by angryegg on August 26, 2012.

2 Responses to “Bitch Stole My Dress”

  1. wow that is pathetic of someone to do! even if they thought if its on sale its on another persons cart!! I am sorry hun that you had to experience this because its hard enough when your fave dress gets ripped or dirty and needs to be thrown but this one was in perfect condition. Hopefully youll find something much better as a bargain somewhere 🙂

  2. Thanks! I guess for some people there is no shame if they can get something for nothing- even if it is at someone else’s expense. I found some great things that day that take some of the sting out of having my dress stolen. I will definitely keep my eyes peeled for a replacement and maybe (finally) take that sewing course so I can make my own!!!

Leave a Reply

 
