Equal Opportunity Make-up

So I was reading an article on The New York Times online about the increase in the use of make-up by men.

Very interesting.

I wonder how many of the guys who use make-up are forthright with its use….

We’ve all read the stats about the narrowing of the gap between what men and women will do in the name of vanity and apparently that gap continues to narrow.

We’re used to seeing the obvious use of make-up by musicians but I am not sure how I feel about a guy who is more particular about his appearance than I.

Does that make me old-fashioned? Traditional? Conservative? (Heaven forbid.)

I am fine with crazy hair colour (or no hair), black eye-liner on the right guy, black nail polish, but guys who use subtle highlights, get their brows shaped, have their nails buffed?

I’m not sure.

I guess I like my guys a little rough around the edges- I’m not perfectly manicured and plucked. I would feel a little weirded out if my guy were….

I guess I am drawn to people (guys or girls) who are more genuine, low-maintenance, who would rather go rock climbing, circus school or play tennis than work it out at the gym.

Apologies for the tangential thought.

Everyone wants to look good but who wants to look like they have to try?

I subscribe to the two-minute make-up routine (after applying sunscreen): enhance eyes and brows with powder, cover blemishes, lip gloss and go. Powder if I am extra shiny- and this only if I am feeling ambitious. Most days I’ll go out with just sunscreen and maybe run a comb through my wet hair just before heading out the door.

I have noticed the use of make-up does affect how I am treated by strangers. I look a little older and polished (maybe) and I command more attention, I think- but then maybe its the high heels….

Perhaps this make-up advantage is one that guys should have the opportunity to participate in without ridicule but hopefully with the knowledge that its use can be a double-edged sword.

I mean, does anyone really need to see the boy version of Tammy Faye Baker?

~ by angryegg on September 3, 2010.

2 Responses to “Equal Opportunity Make-up”

  1. LOL, we already saw the guy version of Tammy Faye, his name was “Boy George”. He had to tack the “Boy” on the beginning, because people really didn’t know for sure!

    I live in North Dakota. I grew up with guys that earned their muscles honestly, through hard work. When I had a brief stint living in New Jersey, I was amazed and horrified by the “Gorillas and Guidos”.

    Makeup on guys? Only if I smeared it there.

  2. I’ve been trying to think of a non-musician-type who wears obvious make-up but I can’t really think of someone- other than maybe George Hamilton but he is one who, perhaps, just stays out in the sun too much. I’m not one for shaking and baking or spray-tans, blah. Some guys can do the goth thing well but it really depends on the guy. Oh well, to each their own.

Leave a Reply

 
