No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

I was on my way to tennis after work when I came upon some people on Queen Street between Hudson’s Bay and Easton Centre and I notice some people with a very small cooler of ice and bottled water.

They were holding up a sign indicating this was for homeless people.

I saw them give a bottle to a gentleman for whom this kind act was intended and they were immediately approached by some guy who had just purchased a $3 hot dog loaded down with mustard, relish, ketchup and onion. He insisted someone else had just bought him the food and that he was indeed homeless.

WTF???

I don’t want to assume anything but if the carefully coifed hair, the expensive soccer shirt and designer jeans were not a dead giveaway, the wallet bulge in his back pocket was.

To say I was incensed is an understatement. I was tempted to do something (the heat makes me cranky) but this was not my fight. The people trying to do a good thing seemed a little timid and I might have scared them more than this presumptuous (and cheap) @ss.

Well, I am just going to have to rely on Karma to hit this guy where it hurts the most and I hope stupid people will not deter others from trying to do something good.

~ by angryegg on August 14, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
