Junkie Takes a Hit

Books are my crack.

 

Books are my chocolate.

 

Books are my kryptonite.

 

Despite my very best of intentions I succumbed to temptation and went to a book sale.

 

The proceeds go toward the purchase of new books for the library and programs that bring books to people who would otherwise not have access to them but who am I kidding? Knowing that the money will go to a good cause is only incidental justification.

 

I needed to feed my habit and I could do it for the price of a Venti Tazo Chai Latte with soy milk at Starbucks.

 

The majority of books were 50 cents each or three for a dollar and children’s literature, science fiction and fantasy were going for five for a dollar. You would be a fool not to go for the bundle and “save” yourself a few pennies.

 

My boyfriend feigned shock when I told him that I spent $6 on books. (I refuse to be one of those women who hide purchases, big or small, from their partners.) He almost cried when I told him I got enough books to fill the knapsack to bursting. The women at the coat check practically applauded when the zipper closed.

 

In the past, I have tried to limit myself to non-fiction. My friends laugh their asses off when I justify my purchases as “reference material”. Strangers just roll their eyes.

 

For the first time ever, I picked up way more fiction, 6:1. But, the majority of them still fall into the category of “reference material.”

 

How so?

 

I think every arts major comes out of university thinking about writing for a living. Everyone knows it is tough to eek out an existence as a writer so it is more a fantasy than anything- but you never know. It is part of my desire to live a creative life, to give my life more meaning.

 

I gave myself a little kick last summer and took a children’s writing class. It was more of an introduction to the scope of children’s literature, an eye to how the publishing industry works with a little writing thrown in.

 

15 of the books I picked up yesterday fit into the category of children’s literature. If I want to write books for kids, it makes sense to read what is being published for kids. My bias is towards books that I would want to read and would have read as a teenager or younger. I have no interest in reading the Gossip Girl series (though I have been sucked into the show) or whatever is the current version of Sweet Valley High. I didn’t read them growing up, why would I read them now- unless I somehow got established enough to be asked to ghost write something in the tradition of Harlequin.

 

But I am getting WAY ahead of myself.

 

Anyone with a habit is adept at justifying their actions and I am no exception. My new “reference material” should keep the desire for “fix” at bay for a little while- I hope.

~ by angryegg on March 13, 2009.

One Response to “Junkie Takes a Hit”

  1. MY WIFE SHE READS THREE OR FOUR BOOKS A WEEK CHECKS THEM OUT OF THE LIBARY SHE ALSO FOUND AT AMAZON THAT YOU CAN BUY GOOD SHAPE BOOKS FOR A PENNY! I HAVE NO PROBLEM WITH HER READING AS MUCH AS SHE DOES MY ADDICTION IS THE BLOGS!

Leave a Reply

 
